to login  I  Register Newsletter
Free delivery for orders over 300 CHF
More than 400 references
Since 1929
THE COOPERATIVE, A MODEL FOR THE FUTURE

 

People are at the heart of la Cave de la Côte’s economic model, which has been built and revolves around its 300 members and winegrowers, who are the cooperative’s real owners and influence its activities. The cooperative format now has the wind in its sails – it is committed to and supports local production and the concept of proximity beloved of consumers. The cooperative undertakes to process all its members’ harvests. Its purchases directly benefit the winegrower, eliminating middle men, and the profits are ploughed back into the cellar for the benefit of the producers themselves.

At the other end of the chain, la Cave de la Côte sells directly to individuals from its two shops in Nyon and Tolochenaz. Where consumers are concerned, it is able to rely on a dense network of small, medium and large retailers and special relationships with the region’s restaurateurs.

INNOVATIVE VITICULTURE

 

Cave de la Côte vinifies wines at two recently renovated sites in Nyon and Tolochenaz. Finesse, precision and flexibility are more than ever the order of the day, thanks to modernised installations that have made it possible to be more precise in terms of temperature control. The craftsman behind la Cave de la Côte’s formidable resurgence, Rodrigo Banto, is an oenologist and agronomic engineer. Having trained at Chile’s two biggest estates, San Pedro and Caliterra, as well as in Bordeaux and California, he is fascinated by the craft‘s creative aspects, by mastery of the weather and the almost mystical dimension to wine.

With his team of two oenologists and seven cellarmasters, Rodrigo Banto has been helping to change the region’s image since 2003, which has brought about its shift in quality – a tremendous potential that has finally been recognised.

Among the most spectacular laurels received by La Cave de la Côte’s oenologist are the awards for the world’s best Merlot in 2010, the world’s best Chasselas in 2015 and the best rosé, thanks to the Cave’s Merlot-based rosé, not to mention the 15 medals won at various competitions in 2017 alone.

Rodrigo Banto’s creativity, his daring, and his team’s expertise have been expressed in other ways, with a first organic wine that does not contain any sulphites, and a surprising Gallotta 2015, with a bouquet of raspberries and red fruit that finally reveals the potential of this grape variety, usually reserved for blends. Another original creation is his “G’amarone”, a Gamaret vinified in the style of an Amarone, a sun-drenched wine, with a bouquet of black fruit, prunes and tobacco. His talent has helped la Cave to make the Gault and Millau list of the 100 best winegrowers in Switzerland and Vinum magazine’s list of the best vineyards.

Sich anmelden  I  Neues Kundenkonto anlegen NEWSLETTER
Kostenloser Versand ab 300 CHF
Über 400 Weine im Sortiment
Seit 1929
DIE GENOSSENSCHAFT, EIN MODELL MIT ZUKUNFT

Der Mensch steht im Mittelpunkt des Geschäftsmodells der Cave de la Côte. Rund 300 Genossenschaftsmitglieder und Winzer tragen zu ihrer Entwicklung bei, alle sind sie Eigentümer und bestimmen die Zukunft der Genossenschaft mit. Die Rechtsform der Genossenschaft ist heute im Aufwind, unterstützt sie doch mit Engagement die lokale Produktion und das wichtige Konzept der Kundennähe. Die Genossenschaft verpflichtet sich, die Ernten ihrer Mitglieder komplett zu verarbeiten. Die Winzer profitieren vom Verkauf ohne Zwischenhandel und der Gewinn wird zugunsten der Produzenten in die Weinkellerei reinvestiert.

Am anderen Ende der Produktionskette verkauft Cave de la Côte in ihren beiden Vinotheken in Nyon und Tolochenaz direkt an Privatpersonen. Die konsumentenorientierte Genossenschaft kann auf ein dichtes Netzwerk von kleinen, mittleren und grossen Einzelhändlern sowie der regionalen und nationalen Gastronomie zählen.

 INNOVATIVER WEINBAU

 

Der Wein von Cave de la Côte wird an beiden, kürzlich renovierten, Standorten Nyon und Tolochenaz hergestellt. Dank der modernisierten Produktionsanlagen, die sich vor allem bei der Temperaturkontrolle auszahlen, sind Finesse und Präzision oberstes Gebot. An dieser Weiterentwicklung war Rodrigo Banto massgeblich beteiligt. Der Önologe und Agraringenieur hat auf den zwei grössten Weingütern Chiles, San Pedro und Caliterra, sowie in Bordeaux und Kalifornien gelernt und studiert. Ihn faszinieren die kreative Seite des Berufs, das Zeitmanagement und die Vielfallt des Weins.

Mit seinem Team aus zwei Önologen und sieben Kellermeistern trägt Rodrigo Banto seit 2003 zur Imageveränderung der Region bei. Die grosse Wende ist geglückt: ihr enormes Potenzial wird endlich gesehen und geschätzt

Zu den interessantesten önologischen Auszeichnungen von Cave de la Côte zählen die Titel des besten Merlot 2010, des besten Chasselas der Welt 2015 und des besten Œil de Perdrix. Weitere fünfzehn Medaillen hat die Kellerei im Jahr 2017 gewonnen.

Weitere Nachweise der Kreativität, Innovationsfreude und des Know-hows von Rodrigo Banto und seinen Mitarbeitern sind ein erster Naturwein ohne Sulfite sowie ein erstaunlicher Gallotta 2015 mit Aromen von Himbeere und roten Früchten, der das Profil dieser meist den Assemblages vorbehaltenen Rebsorte präsentiert. Eine weitere originelle Kreation ist der «G’amarone», ein Gamaret, der wie ein Amarone vinifiziert wird. Die Aromen von schwarzen Früchten, Pflaume und Tabak erinnern er an die warme und trockene Reifezeit seiner Trauben. Rodrigo Bantos Talente bleiben nicht unbemerkt: Die Cave steht auf der GaultMillau-Liste der 100 besten Winzer der Schweiz und wurde vom Weinmagazin Vinum in die Klasse der besten Weingüter aufgenommen.