to login  I  Register Newsletter
Free delivery for orders over 300 CHF
More than 400 references
Since 1929
THE COOPERATIVE, A MODEL FOR THE FUTURE

 

People are at the heart of la Cave de la Côte’s economic model, which has been built and revolves around its 300 members and winegrowers, who are the cooperative’s real owners and influence its activities. The cooperative format now has the wind in its sails – it is committed to and supports local production and the concept of proximity beloved of consumers. The cooperative undertakes to process all its members’ harvests. Its purchases directly benefit the winegrower, eliminating middle men, and the profits are ploughed back into the cellar for the benefit of the producers themselves.

At the other end of the chain, la Cave de la Côte sells directly to individuals from its two shops in Nyon and Tolochenaz. Where consumers are concerned, it is able to rely on a dense network of small, medium and large retailers and special relationships with the region’s restaurateurs.

INNOVATIVE VITICULTURE

 

Cave de la Côte vinifies wines at two recently renovated sites in Nyon and Tolochenaz. Finesse, precision and flexibility are more than ever the order of the day, thanks to modernised installations that have made it possible to be more precise in terms of temperature control. The craftsman behind la Cave de la Côte’s formidable resurgence, Rodrigo Banto, is an oenologist and agronomic engineer. Having trained at Chile’s two biggest estates, San Pedro and Caliterra, as well as in Bordeaux and California, he is fascinated by the craft‘s creative aspects, by mastery of the weather and the almost mystical dimension to wine.

With his team of two oenologists and seven cellarmasters, Rodrigo Banto has been helping to change the region’s image since 2003, which has brought about its shift in quality – a tremendous potential that has finally been recognised.

Among the most spectacular laurels received by La Cave de la Côte’s oenologist are the awards for the world’s best Merlot in 2010, the world’s best Chasselas in 2015 and the best rosé, thanks to the Cave’s Merlot-based rosé, not to mention the 15 medals won at various competitions in 2017 alone.

Rodrigo Banto’s creativity, his daring, and his team’s expertise have been expressed in other ways, with a first organic wine that does not contain any sulphites, and a surprising Gallotta 2015, with a bouquet of raspberries and red fruit that finally reveals the potential of this grape variety, usually reserved for blends. Another original creation is his “G’amarone”, a Gamaret vinified in the style of an Amarone, a sun-drenched wine, with a bouquet of black fruit, prunes and tobacco. His talent has helped la Cave to make the Gault and Millau list of the 100 best winegrowers in Switzerland and Vinum magazine’s list of the best vineyards.

Se connecter  I  S’enregistrer NEWSLETTER
Livraison gratuite dès 300.- CHF d’achats
Plus de 400 références
Depuis 1929
COOPERATIVE, UN MODELE D’AVENIR

 

L’humain est au centre du modèle économique de la Cave de la Côte, qui s’est construite et s’articule autour de ses 300 sociétaires et vignerons, véritables propriétaires et influenceurs des activités de la coopérative. La forme de la coopérative a désormais le vent en poupe : elle s’engage et soutient la production locale et la notion de proximité chères aux consommateurs. La coopérative s’engage à transformer l’intégralité des récoltes de ses sociétaires. Ses achats bénéficient directement au vigneron, sans intermédiaires et les bénéfices sont réinvestis dans la cave et au profit des producteurs eux-mêmes.

A l’autre bout de la chaîne, la Cave de la Côte vend directement aux particuliers dans ses deux vinothèques de Nyon et Tolochenaz. Proche des consommateurs, elle peut compter sur un réseau dense de détaillants de petite, moyenne et grande taille et des liens privilégiés avec les restaurateurs de sa région.

UNE VITICULTURE INNOVANTE

 

A la Cave de la Côte, la vinification se fait sur les deux sites récemment rénovés de Nyon et Tolochenaz. Finesse, précision et souplesse sont plus que jamais les mots d’ordre, grâce aux installations modernisées qui ont notamment permis de gagner en précision en termes de contrôle des températures. Artisan du formidable renouveau de la Cave de la Côte, Rodrigo Banto est oenologue et ingénieur agronome. Formé dans deux plus grands domaines chiliens San Pedro et Caliterra, mais aussi à Bordeaux et en Californie, il se dit fasciné par l’aspect créatif du métier, la maîtrise du temps, la dimension presque mystique du vin.

Avec son équipe de deux œnologues et sept cavistes, Rodrigo Banto contribue depuis 2003 à changer l’image de la région, qui a réussi son grand virage qualitatif : un formidable potentiel enfin reconnu.

Parmi les lauriers les plus spectaculaires de l’œnologue de  Cave de la Côte, les titres de meilleur merlot du monde en 2010, meilleur chasselas du monde en 2015 ou encore meilleur œil-de-perdrix grâce aux Chaumes de la Cave – pour ne rien dire des quinze médailles glanées la seule année 2017 lors de divers concours.

La créativité de Rodrigo Banto, son audace et le savoir-faire de son équipe ont trouvé d’autres belles concrétisations avec un premier vin nature, sans sulfites, ou un étonnant gallotta 2015 aux arômes de framboise et de fruits rouges, révélant enfin le potentiel de ce cépage le plus souvent réservé aux assemblages. Autre création originale, son « Gamar’One », un gamaret vinifié à la manière de l’amarone, un vin solaire avec des arômes de fruits noirs, pruneau et tabac. Un talent qui a contribué à faire entrer la Cave dans la liste des 100 meilleurs vignerons de Suisse établie par le guide Gault & Millau et dans celle des meilleurs domaines du magazine Vinum…